Directorate of Committees, Journals and House Procedures


  1. The Directorate of Committees, Journals and House Procedures has a mandate to facilitate the core business of Parliament through the provision of effective procedural, administrative and decision support systems to Parliament and its Committees.
  2. The Directorate advises the Speaker, the President of the Senate and all Members of Parliament on matters relating to Parliamentary Practice, Law and Procedure.
  3. More specifically, the Directorate proffers competent procedural advice to Parliament, its 19 pre-audit Portfolio Committees, 6 Thematic Committees, the post audit Public Accounts Committee and any other ad hoc Committee as may be appointed from time to time.
  4. The Directorate has three Departments namely Committees, Journals and Hansard. It is headed by the Clerk of Parliament who is assisted by two Deputy Clerks and two Assistant Clerks of Parliament.